Exchange Rate

The unit of currency in South Africa is in Rand. Bills come in denominations of R10, R20, R50, R100 and R200 with coins in R5, R2, R1, 50c, 20c, 10c and 5c (100c = R1)

14% value added tax (VAT) is included in the price of most goods and services, but foreign visitors can obtain a refund at the airport upon departure.

Most departmental stores, shops, hotels and restaurants accept international credit cards i.e. American Express, VISA, Diners Club and Mastercard. Tipping is common but not obligatory. It is recommended to give 10% of the total bill to waiters and taxi drivers.

Banking hours: Weekdays 09:00 – 15:30, Saturdays 08:00 – 11:00.

Screen width: